Share On


New Student Editor-in-Chief for ACTEC Law Journal

Conor Wiggins and Seema Rambaran, Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University

The Student Editorial Board at the Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University is proud to announce the election of Conor Wiggins as the student Editor-in-Chief of Volume 44 of the ACTEC Law Journal. Each year, the student Editor-in-Chief is elected by a majority vote of the Journal’s student staff. Conor is pursuing his law degree with an Intellectual Property Law Honors Concentration. He is originally from New Jersey and came to Hofstra with work experience in a variety of industries including work as a funerary assistant, rowing coach, mover, and several internship positions in legal and non-legal fields. He is currently interning with the United States Attorney's Office for the Eastern District of New York and working for Rosenbaum Famularo, P.C. Conor is a 2015 graduate of Marist College and holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in History.

Conor’s first task as incoming Editor-in-Chief was to assist the current Student Editorial Board in selecting next year’s Managing Editor of Staff, a Managing Editor of Articles, a Communications Editor, and a Business Editor. They also selected for next year’s Journal several Research Editors, Articles Editors, and Notes and Comments Editors. Conor and the other new editors soon will begin training for next year with the students currently holding their editorial positions. 

Seema Rambaran, the current student Editor-in-Chief, will continue to oversee the operations of the Journal’s staff until her graduation in May 2018. Seema, a student fellow of the Monroe Freedman Institute for the Study of Legal Ethics at Hofstra Law School, is interested in antitrust law. Prior to law school, Seema worked for an elected official in Queens, NY, numerous law firms and investment banks, and a competition regulator in Guyana, South America. During law school Seema has interned at the U.S. Federal Trade Commission and a boutique securities litigation firm while also holding leadership positions in a number of student organizations. Seema holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Government and Politics from St. John’s University and a Master of Arts in International Relations and Conflict Resolution from American Public University. The ACTEC Law Journal thanks Seema for her hard work in overseeing the work of the student editors during the 2017-2018 academic year.

Under Seema’s leadership, the Student Editorial Board for Volume 43 of the ACTEC Law Journal has streamlined the editorial procedures for the review of articles. The ACTEC Law Journal is the first of the five student journals at Hofstra to move its editorial process entirely on-line. Working digitally enables the students to complete their editorial duties quickly and simplifies the process of review.  The shift to an on-line editing process minimizes delay and is a significant contributing factor to the ACTEC Law Journal’s ability to timely publish three issues during the 2017-2018 academic year.

After final exams in May 2018, new staff members will be selected from Hofstra’s rising second year class. The fall semester of 2018 marks the beginning the ninth year of Hofstra’s relationship with the ACTEC Law Journal. The student editors are overseen by Ashleigh Gough, Special Professor of Law at the Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University, and the Coordinating Editor of the ACTEC Law Journal. Rounding out the team are Professor Bridget Crawford (Pace Law School) as Editor; Professor Jeffrey Cooper (Quinnipiac) as Associate Editor, and Professor Mitchell Gans as Academic Editor.  After the ACTEC Annual Meeting in March, Professor Cooper will become the Editor and Professor Alyssa DiRusso (Samford University Cumberland School of Law) will become the Associate Editor.

Back to news