Press Releases

Cynda C. Ottaway Elected 2016-2017 President of ACTEC

ACTEC Elects Cynda C. Ottaway President 2016-2017
Fellows Inducted Into Leading Estate Planning Organization

WASHINGTON, April 6, 2016 — The American College of Trust and Estate Counsel (ACTEC), a prestigious association of highly-credentialed trust and estate lawyers, elected Cynda C. Ottaway as president for the 2016- 2017 year. ACTEC inaugurated new officers and new members or Fellows during its annual meeting last month in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Cynda Ottaway is a director and chair of Crowe & Dunlevy Attorneys and Counselors at Law, Private Wealth & Closely-Held Business practice group in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. Her practice focuses on estate planning, trust and estate administration, litigation and planning for closely-held family businesses. Ottaway has experience in wealth transfer techniques and assists individuals and businesses with succession planning.

Elected to ACTEC membership in 1989, Ottaway has served in numerous leadership roles including the Executive Committee, the Board of Regents, chair of the Professional Responsibility Committee and as past president of the ACTEC Foundation. A frequent speaker and writer, she served as co-reporter for the ACTEC Commentaries on the Model Rules of Professional Conduct (4th Edition, 2006.)

The ACTEC Board of Regents confirmed the election of the 2016-2017 officers, including:

  • President-Elect: Susan T. House (Pasadena, CA)
  • Vice President: Charles D. Fox IV (Charlottesville, VA)
  • Treasurer: John A. Terrill II (Conshohocken, PA)
  • Secretary: Stephen R. Akers (Dallas, TX)
  • Immediate Past President: Bruce Stone (Coral Gables, FL)

The Regents approved the nominations of the following Fellows:

AL:Gay Blackburn Maloney (Decatur)
AZ:Ana Perez-Arrieta (Tucson)
CA:Jessica A. Uzcategui (Los Angeles)
DE:Carol G. Kroch (Wilmington)
Richard W. Nenno (Wilmington)
FL:Lester Bernard Law (Naples)
Mark R. Parthemer (Palm Beach)
IA:Breanna Young (Earlham)
IL:Jane Gorham Ditelberg (Chicago)
Benetta P. Jenson (Chicago)
R. Hugh Magill (Chicago)
Natalie M. Perry (Lisle)
MA:Suma V. Nair (Boston)
NC:H. Chalk Broughton, Jr. (Southern Pines)
Janice L. Davies (Charlotte)
W. Curtis Elliott, Jr. (Charlotte)
Timothy A. Nordgren (Durham)
Holly B. Norvell (Charlotte)
Tanya N. Oesterreich (Concord)
NM:R. Glenn Davis (Las Cruces)
NV:Julia S. Gold (Reno)
Michaelle D. Rafferty (Reno)
NY:Gail E. Cohen (New York)
Natalia Murphy (New York)
Eric W. Penzer (Uniondale)
Tara Anne Pleat (Clifton Park)
Catherine Grevers Schmidt (New York)
PA:Jennifer L. Rawson (Pittsburgh)
TN:William King Self, Jr. (Memphis)
TX:Paige Ben-Yaacov (Houston)
Craig Hopper (Austin)
VA:Benjamin S. Candland (Richmond)
Thomas D. Yates (Fairfax)
CAN:Roy A. Berg (Calgary)
Elie S. Roth (Toronto)

Honorary Fellow:

NY:Susan Porter (New York)

Dennis I. Belcher, ACTEC Past President and partner with McGuireWoods LLP of Richmond, Virginia, delivered the annual Joseph Trachtman Lecture, where he examined developments in the financial services industry and how ACTEC is uniquely positioned to offer independent resources to respond to changes in the estate planning. For more information on the presentation, visit